Lloyds Banking Group to close 60 branches including Bank of Scotland and Halifax locations

Lloyds Banking Group has announced that it will shut 60 of its branches this year.

The closures will include 24 Lloyds Bank sites, 19 Bank of Scotland locations and 17 Halifax branches.

Vim Maru, group retail director of Lloyds Banking Group said: “Just like many other high street businesses, fewer customers are choosing to visit our branches.

“Our branch network is an important way for us to support our customers, but we need to adapt to the significant growth in customers choosing to do most of their everyday banking online.”

The Unite union said the announcement would result in 124 job losses, which a Lloyds spokesperson did not deny but said the company was making efforts to offer employees jobs in other locations.


Caren Evans, Unite national officer, said: “Lloyds Banking Group must not be allowed to abandon 60 more local communities where bank branches play an essential role.

“The 124 employees who work tirelessly in their communities are dedicated to serving the banking needs of the most vulnerable who depend on their skilled services.

More from Business

Spring statement: The key points in Chancellor Rishi Sunak’s statement to MPs

Inflation hits new 30-year high as Chancellor Rishi Sunak expected to ease cost of living crisis

Spring statement latest: Rishi Sunak unveils mini budget as he faces calls to help with rising cost of living

“When a bank branch closes the heart of the local community is ripped out and the results are devastating.

“Unite is clear that simply leaving an ATM in place of a vibrant bank branch is wholly insufficient.

“The banking sector needs to answer some serious questions about its corporate social responsibilities and the government cannot stand back and allow the relentless closure of banks to continue until no more local banking services remain.”

The Bank of Scotland locations that will close are: Aberdeen 201 Union St, Alness, Brechin, Broxburn, Carluke, Clarkston, Dunblane, Dyce, Edinburgh Barnton, Edinburgh Shandwick, Forres, Glasgow Riddrie, Innerleithen, Kirkcudbright, Lockerbie, Selkirk, Shotts, Stromness and Troon.

These Lloyds Bank branches will shut their doors: Aylesbury Gatehouse, Beaconsfield, Birmingham Temple Row, Bolton Westhoughton, Bradford Thornbury, Buckingham, Chandlers Ford, Chipping Campden, Colchester St Johns, Cottingham, Edgbaston, Knutsford, Liverpool Woolton, Lyndhurst, Marlow, Morriston Swansea, Oxford Summertown, Poulton-le-Fylde, Rushden, Shanklin, Shrewsbury Mount Pleasant, Smethwick, Swanwick and Tiptree.